top of page

BOUNDARIES

I'm a giver by nature. Giver's don't have boundaries, or so I thought. Givers exhaustingly give everything because that's what it means to love. And I love to love. I love to love without boundaries, and while I thought this was my greatest gift to others, it was, in all actuality, my greatest lesson to learn. Learning to love with boundaries.

My biggest hurdle was figuring out what boundaries meant. I imagined them, literally, as hurdles. These huge road blocks that keep me from loving with wild abandon. It didn't feel right to put a cap on my desire to show others they're loved. To show others they're loved. Hm. That sentence proved to me that not having boundaries meant that while I was loving the hell out of others, others were free to take my love and either accept, reject or continue to take and take and take until I was completely depleted. Boundaries serve as a guide that let others know how to maneuver within my love perimeters.

Boundaries allow me to love as hard as I want. Boundaries keep me safe. Boundaries guide me, like a road map, to destinations of love. Some destinations are to be travelled with caution. Some are wild road trips; short and satisfying. Some are the road home, where my heart can come and go as it pleases, without expectations or limits; home is just glad I'm there. The beauty is that all of my destinations serve me while enjoying the act of loving others.

So, while boundaries can seem limiting, they're actually quite freeing, and a necessity for finding balance in love and life.


bottom of page